anyone here remember Holos Gallery?

Topics not fitting anywhere else.
Alan R

anyone here remember Holos Gallery?

Post by Alan R »

Anyone here remember Holos Gallery? One of the world's epicenters of display holography....San Francisco, mid-eighties - early-nineties.

My old stomping grounds. Bob H, Jeff M, John K, Lon M, Greg C, Peter M, Ron O, etc ... anyone out there?

How about......AH Prismatic, Spectore, Holographic Dimensions, The Hologram Company, Ross Books, Reconnaissance?

I'm new to the forum and I'm revisiting holography after a decade and a half in the digital world. I'm trying to catch up with history and renew some old acquaintances from the 20th century. I'm not a Facebooker, so I stumbled across this place. Hello.

Alan R
Din

Re: anyone here remember Holos Gallery?

Post by Din »

Yes.I studied under Edwina Orr in England at Richmond studios in 1982. I then came to the US and met Gary at Holos. Gary put me in touch with a holographer who's name I can't recall, except that her car number plate was IC3D4U. Anyway, she then put me in touch with Peter Miller, who gave me the contact for Dan Schweitzer in New York. When I got to NY, Dan put me in touch with a number of NY holographers. When I returned to the UK, Peter Miller was at Richmond also and I was both an assistant and studied under him

In about 1989 myself and Mitch Henrion took a tour of North California and new York holographers, where we met Jason Sappan, Bob Hess, Jeff Murray (of LASER fame) etc.
Alan R wrote:Bob H
Bob's on this forum and will likely reply himself.
Alan R wrote:Jeff M
If you mean Murray, last I heard, he was living on an island off Washington state. Possible Bob has more info.
Alan R wrote:John K
Kauffmann? He's not practicing anymore, but I believe he shows up to the Holography group meeting in San Fran every February, as do Gary Z and Dan Ciffelli.
Alan R wrote:Peter M