A tabletop lightfield display

This is a forum to share experiences and ideas about holography.
favalora

Post by favalora »

Hello,

I suppose this post is part-publicity, part-science. My background is in autostereoscopic 3-D, and my employer - a product development firm called Optics for Hire (OFH) - acquired the patents from my former company in the space of 3-D image projection.

OFH has begun making animated movies that explain the underlying mechanisms of some of these patents. Here's one that I think is interesting, and hope you will, too. It describes techniques to create 3-D imagery floating above, say, a conference-room table, with horizontal parallax (or, "theta parallax" might be more appropriate). It is a light field display. Of course, the window-violation constraint must be observed, in that imagery will only be visible where there is a display element along the line of sight from the viewer through each part of the image. Still, when I developed the theory behind this several years ago, imagery 6"-12" tall seemed reasonable.

Anyhow, the YouTube video is here (with an unusually slowed-down recording of my voice), and a relevant patent is 7,364,300.

What do you think? If this is up your alley, other inventions are at the OFH patent page.

Best,
Gregg
jnhong

Post by jnhong »

I think the video is outright misleading. The 3D video image lights up in free space, beyond the boundaries of the rotating diffuser. It does NOT observe the window-violation constraint you just mentioned.

Can you show a video of the real device in real-life action? There have been several different schemes for volumetric displays, many of them can be found in YouTube as well. Rotating LED bars, piston-mounted LED fields, helical screens, string volumes, etc... How does your device compare with these other designs? You might have some compelling advantages with your design if you could actually show it working. Do you have a prototype?

Joe
favalora

Post by favalora »

Joe,