help- Reflection holograms w/ film sandwiched between glass

Simple answers are here! For Theory look in General Holography.
MGordon

Post by MGordon »

I am a member of a student optics club at UCSD that runs workshops where guests (visitors from various middle schools, high schools, as well as local college students) come to make their own holograms.

video of some of the holograms
Photo of table layout used for PFG03 plates

In the past we've generally used the 2.5" Integraf PFG03 slides, but we've been trying to to switch our setup to make holograms on film instead (we've tried both VRP-M with Argon, and PFG01 with HeNe), as the film is cheaper, and more "user friendly" to give away than breakable glass, especially as we want to start making holograms of larger objects (at least 4"x5" film).

Our table layout uses object beams from each side, and a reference beam (almost) normal to the plate that serves as a third object beam, adjusted with a variable attenuator. Path length differences are 2cm at most. When we tried this out with film, we left the layout the same and expanded the beams with more powerful objectives, then substituted panes of glass held together with binder clips for our plateholder.

So far all our attempts to make holograms by sandwiching film between two pieces of glass have resulted in very poor contrast compared to using the PFG03 plates. All the features are present, it's just the image appears very washed out. The few we tried using VRP with 515nm and our argon laser are even worse (only the very brightest spots on our object show up, regardless of exposure or development times) for some reason, as well.

We also tried simply taping the film to a single pane of glass, with emulsion side facing the object. In that case, the image came out great along the edges, but terribly in the center -- I suppect the reason there was slight movement of the film. (this was also more difficult to do in the dark).