Multiplex Hologram

Simple answers are here! For Theory look in General Holography.
jag2x

Multiplex Hologram

Post by jag2x »

Hi all,

I'm new to holograms here and would like to get a better understanding on how Multiplex/Stereogram Holograms are made.

I've seen examples on the web but unsure of the full projection of each image?
Say I have 3 images of an object, a left photograph, a centre photograph and a right photograph, each image is 6cm x 6cm. I've seen a laser output via a LCD panelof each photograph hit a hologram plate, which there is a slit or mask that doesnt expose the whole plate but part of it. There would be 3 slits revealing each part of the plate.
Though what confuses me is the projection, if each image is 6cm x 6cm from the LCD, and your slit is only 2cm wide, then the only thing that would registered on the plate is 2cm of the outputted 6cm x 6cm image? Is this correct? You'd then do the rest of the 2 images with the corresponding slits.
I dont really see how this would result in a 3D image?
I know I'd need to use more images than 3 to get a full on 3D image! :)
OR
you need to get EACH of your 6cmx6cm image NARROW enough to fit the slit????
I might be complicating the WHOLE THING now :)
Cheers
jag2x
holo_cyware

Multiplex Hologram

Post by holo_cyware »

Welcome on board !

You are right about the slits projections: only the corresponding part (2 cm) of the image is projected onto the plate.

How it works: just think about the "lens cards" (called "3d post cards"), but with a resolution as high as you can afford slits.

Are you from Europe?
jag2x

Multiplex Hologram

Post by jag2x »

Hi Holo_cyware,
I'm located in Australia. Over here lasers over a certain class /mw range are regarded as a firearm!? Though I'm going to do a bit of digging on the type of law and what certain class of laser and mw I can get.

Thanks for the explanation.