Very bad timing for shopping.

Simple answers are here! For Theory look in General Holography.
decolorante

Post by decolorante »

Greetings to everyone. This is my first post here, so I write mainly to say "hello!" and getting started knowing someone :)

I just have to share my dismay for the annoying situation I find myself into. I am a photographer, and I discovered this holography thing only some time ago. Being already used to working with chemicals, films and exposures, I thought I could give it a try. I thought that, having just bought a green laser pointer (for other reasons), I wouldn't need to buy another one.

Then, browsing the great source of information that this forum is, I discovered that my laser (a Wicked Lasers Core, 5 mW 532 nm) is most certainly unsuitable for holography, due to modes and polarization being not made clear by the manufacturer, maximum on-time 100 seconds before it gets damaged, and probably other reasons.

Oh, how sad I am feeling for my wallet. I thought I had bought a great product, until now. Now I will also stop enjoying it for other things. What I thought was a pure, clean source of light probably is just a chaotic orgy of photons which happen to be of almost the same frequency.

I am uncertain. I can either buy green-sensitive material and developer, which would mean spending less but having an huge chance of not getting anything due to the stupid laser. Or I can buy a kit with red laser, red-sensitive plates and developer from Integraf, spend a bit more, throw my green one in the trashbin, and be almost sure that it will work.

Adding to the uncertainity is the fact that Integraf does not reply to my quote requests, a week after I sent them. You generally don't want to buy from a company which doesn't reply, but I keep reading that it is a very good company, so I don't know what to think.

Sorry for the rant. I hope I didn't annoy anyone.. point it out to me if I am greatly misunderstanding something.