Total Noob... Which laser?

Simple answers are here! For Theory look in General Holography.
geek

Post by geek »

Hi all,

Total noob to this stuff, and I've got a quick question (I hope).

I can get 2 laser diodes and drivers etc for about $85, a LPC-815 red 650nm ~250mW and a PHR-803T blue/violet 405nm ~ 100mW. This is the diodes, housings, driver boards, heat sink, and dummy test board for the driver, all for $85. This seems like a decent deal to me.

OR....

I can get a 2mW NeHe laser for about the same price.

I'm interested in doing some other experiments etc with the laser/s, but I'd like to eventualy do some holography. I'm just buying the lasers now, not any plates or chemicals yet.

Basically just want to know if those laser diodes would be any good at all for holography when I get ready. Also just what to expect from diodes vs NeHe as far as the beam output goes.

EDIT: Well, seems I found part of the answer here http://www.holographyforum.org/phpBB2/v ... f=2&t=6493

Sorry I didn't search better first. My bad...
wler

Post by wler »

Get the HeNe, I guess for that money you could get a nice 5mW one. Those diodes work only with luck if at all. As a beginner you would like to avoid any unnecessary stumbling block. Even with a perfect laser, you will find that doing holograms is difficult as first. So don't make your life more difficult as necessary by having too many unreliable factors in the game. Once you have all the other factors under control, you may try to get a more tricky laser.
geek

Post by geek »

Well dang, my window ran out on the HeNe. So I bought the diodes. I'll start looking for another HeNe now.

Please forgive the dumb question, but... Assuming you have a good laser, a good film/plate and no vibrations what is it that makes this so difficult? I can tell that it is, I'm not questioning that. It's just I can't quite figure out why? or what it is that makes it so?