Horizontal stripes on red hologram

Simple answers are here! For Theory look in General Holography.
Max

Post by Max »

Hello,

I'm quite new to holography, and I've tried making some holograms for a science project, using an integraf kit (PFG-03M plates).

For now I just make some simple holograms (pinpoint laser and direct contact between hologram and objects). I first made 2 of stacks of coin that did well, then I wasted 4 plates trying to take an eiffel tower that didn't come out (perhaps due to vibrations), and now I made a 5 others that worked more or less, 2 eiffel towers, 1 little car, keys and 1 magnifying glass pointed toward coins.

I experience some problems with these last 5 and I would be glad to get the advice of more advanced holographers.

- Horizontal stripes appear on the objects. It looks like interference fringes, and I can't explain them, and why they appear on these objects but not on the coins. Could it be related to the laser orientation (or polarisation) ? I made these one with a 45-degree incidence, but I had made the coins with a normal incidence (I later realised it was more difficult to look at). These stripes make the eiffel tower look broken.

- With the magnifying glass pointed toward points, I can only see the magnifying glass and not what is behind. I guess this was a bit too ambitious.

I would like to try out interferometry, but obviously I can't while there are these stripes.

Thanks for your help.
Attachments
broken eiffel tower
broken eiffel tower
DSC05618.jpg (45.77 KiB) Viewed 3369 times
DSC05620.jpg
DSC05620.jpg (51.39 KiB) Viewed 3369 times
striped little car
striped little car
DSC05621.jpg (58.14 KiB) Viewed 3369 times
dave battin

Post by dave battin »

these holograms show object movment. longer settle times, draft exclusion, vibration isolation, and attachinig you object better to the platform ............... good work keep it up.
BobH

Post by BobH »