Experience with red laser diodes

Simple answers are here! For Theory look in General Holography.
jnhong

Post by jnhong »

I've been lurking in the forums for a few months, but I've been shooting basic holograms for a few years. All my experience is with red laser diodes, and I've made some observations along the way. Currently have 3 Laser Diode Modules, all are <5 mW.

Laser Diode Modules
LitiHolo diode (from their kit), 650-670 nm, 3 mW rating. I've measured 42.5 mA at 3.8v-3.9v with very strong output from this LDM. It's nice and strong but the beam could be rather dirty.

Integraf diode. Spec'ed at 650 nm, 2.8v-4.0v, 50-65 mA, 3-4 mW. However, I've been running mine with 5.2v and it only draws 32.5 mA. (4 rechargeable AA at 1.2-1.3v each.) The output power seems to be lower than the Litiholo diode, but it's a somewhat cleaner beam. I've shot nice holograms with this one. I've observed a rather low polarization ratio, perhaps 50:1 or thereabouts. I need to gather better data.

ThorLabs LDM 635 nm, 5mW, -5VDC, 100 mA. This is a nice laser diode module generating a very clean beam, though not perfect, not flawless. Very high polarization ratio on this one, maybe 1000:1 or better. The module wiring and specification is not extremely detailed, but it was straightforward to test and determine the proper power connections. I run this with a 4xAA battery pack with NiMH rechargeables. That way I don't have to buy a "lab quality" +5VDC power supply. I've only recently acquired this LDM, so I've only made rather basic holograms with it so far.

Recommendation to other beginners: use rechargeable batteries for laser diodes for very stable and long-lasting power. NiMH cells have excellent voltage vs capacity curves so they'll stay around 1.2v for hours and hours of use. Don't use alkalines -- they suck. LDMs have a built-in power regulator so you have no worries about start-up spikes.