I'm having problems getting my DCG emulsions to work...

Dichromated Gelatin.
dmarks

I'm having problems getting my DCG emulsions to work...

Post by dmarks »

Hello Holographers,

Any help you could provide would be appreciated.

I bought a Lasos 50 mW 532 nm single longitudnal mode 1 MHz linewidth laser to do DCG holograms because they look awesome and I finally found a great deal on e-bay to get one. I have been excited to make DCG holograms since I learned about them. I am an experienced optical engineer and so I am frustrated I have problems getting this to work. Any information you could provide would be most helpful.

Anyways, I am completely failing to make DCG holograms. When I do the final 100% alcohol bath, basically I do not get hardly any rainbow fringes at all to speak of. This is even after directly taping coins (as a reflection object) to the gelatin emulsion during exposure to try to minimize the distance between the emulsion and the object.

So let me explain the process I am doing. I have read this forum many times and other people's experiences trying to glean what I could be doing wrong. However, after many attempts, I have no clue.

First, I am coating the plates. To clean the plates, I soak for several says in deionized water with 10% sodium hypochlorite bleach added to it. It seems to do a good job of cleaning and etching the plates. I rinse the plates with deionized water and let them dry by placing them into a box where they are placed at about a 30 degree angle to vertical to drip off and dry.