Jeff Blyth's New Ag Coating Process

Silverhalide Emulsions / Chemistry.
Colin Kaminski

Jeff Blyth's New Ag Coating Process

Post by Colin Kaminski »

This is for home made plates with chemicals available to residential addresses from the Internet. This version is only green sensitive but we could do a group buy on the red sensitizer.

http://d-i-yscience.blogspot.co.uk/2016 ... s.html?m=1
Colin Kaminski

Re: Jeff Blyth's New Ag Coating Process

Post by Colin Kaminski »

I was sent this question and as I have no experience I thought I would post it here:

Hopefully you can help me with a problem im having with Mr. Jeff's method.
I'm trying his DIY method for red lasers. I got everything in the list but
the issue i'm having is that my gelatin solution gets very hard after
adding the 4ml of Glycerol as mentioned in step 2) and no mater how long or
hot the water bath gets, the gelatin solution won't be fluid again.

After reading and re-reading steps 1) and 2) i cant find what the problem
is. It clearly states to add 12Gr of gelatin leaf to 100Ml. of DI water and
to remove the froth with a filter. To that gelatin solution then add 0.5Gr
of Copper Sulfate previously mixed with 3Ml of DI water. I did it. The
gelatin then changes it' yellowish tone to a blue one. I must mention that
the gelatin is still at 50ºC because i don't let it get colder. It's at
this point that i add the 4Ml of Glycerol and no more that 30 seconds after
i do it, it starts to gel pretty fast until it gets hard and cleaning the
bottle is annoying because the gel takes a lot of time to come off (ok, no
more than 5 minutes, but still annoying).

But then at point 9) it makes it look as if the 0.5Gr. of Copper Sulfate in
3Ml of DI water and the 4Ml of Glycerol are a solution in itself, not to be
stirred in the gelatin after the glass has been coated, which kind of makes
sense because it would then get hard on the glass.
Please, any advice as to how to solve this issue?. I'm i doing it wrong