Dumb Question #214

Starting point for beginners questions.
Tony

Dumb Question #214

Post by Tony »

We all know that if you break a hologram into tiny pieces, all the pieces still contain enough information to recreate the complete hologram: smash a glass hologram of a cup into bits and you can still see the entire cup in any of the broken pieces of glass. Providing this equation is met A/((r)^2) >= A'/((r')^2). ;)

If you were very small, teany tiny, how small can the piece of glass get before you can no longer see anything? How many fringes do you need?

Thanks
Holomark

Dumb Question #214

Post by Holomark »

Well I am no expert, but it seems to me you don't need any glass. You need the recording material on the glass or in the film.
Now since you mentioned a formula, you obviously want a more technical response, which I do not have, but I would imagine that it would be based upon the wavelength of the light source used to illuminate your recording material. But the more of the image you eliminate the more you degrade you image.I would wonder how you would light such a tiny bit of recording material.
Wler

Dumb Question #214

Post by Wler »

Well "all the pieces still contain enough information to recreate the complete hologram" is not quite correct, there are two issues:

1) Reduction of perspective. Think of a hologram as a window. Closing say half of the window will reduce the perspective, and thus information is lost. This may not be evident for far-away objects, but for close objects (think about one being away one inch from the window) this is quite obvious. I guess when people say this above sentence, they mean infinitely far away objects.

2) Reduction of resolution. As always in diffractive optics, the resolution grows with the number of illuminated fringes. Having just, say, two fringes illuminated will produce a very structureless blob. The more and more fringes are illuminated, the sharper the picture becomes.