Simon's Holography Senior Project

Starting point for beginners questions.
nomiss

Post by nomiss »

In this thread I will be keeping a detailed log of the progression of a three month long holography project that I am embarking on. I will be posting weekly updates on my project and on how it is progressing. I will also attach images of my setup and final product. Feel free to comment and add advice since I am new to holography. Throughout the project I will be using a Coherent Compass 315M-100 DPSS 532nm Laser. Output is tested at 101.2 mw. As for the holographic plates, I will be using Ultimate U08 plates ranging in size from 2.4"x2.4" up to 8"x10". Starting out I will be using a simple Denisyuk setup with some 2.4"x2.4" plates to experiment. Right now I have 40 2.4"x2.4" plates so I am thinking about experimenting with some chess and board pieces. As for front surface mirrors, I have a 5x7" 4x5" and four 1.5x1.5"s which I will be using later in some more advanced setups. Right now I am still gathering supplies for my main table which is going to consist of a granite countertop resting on some semi-inflated inner-tubes.
holomaker

Post by holomaker »

Ok Simon good luck and keep us posted !
holorefugee

Post by holorefugee »

Please let us know the dimensions of your table. It will help my stiffness spreadsheet.
nomiss

Post by nomiss »

Holorefugee, ill know the dimensions of my table by the end of today. I got these Barry Controls vibration mounts to use on each leg of my table. They are pretty small and are only about an inch and a half thick. Traditionally, they are mounted by screws, but that won't be an option since I don't feel like drilling through stone and risking cracking the table. http://i.ebayimg.com/t/Lot-4-Barry-Cont ... wMFgxNjAw/$(KGrHqIOKo0E6e52W4SUBPRBu18YUw~~60_57.JPG I was wondering if it would be best to just have them table resting on the vibration mounts or if they should be glued down.
holomaker

Post by holomaker »