starting on a budget

Simple answers are here! For Theory look in General Holography.
orion-7

starting on a budget

Post by orion-7 »

hi all,

im a student on a very low budget, and was lookingfor a cheap outfit with which to make holograms. I hear laser pens can be used? Could you please point out where to pick up all tha basic equipment (not too bothered on final quality yet, just curious so far) for a decent price?

many thanks,

chris
BobH

starting on a budget

Post by BobH »

Welcome Chris. Where are you located? Your least expensive option is to work something out with a local holographer. They might also have some pieces of equipment you could borrow to start. Search in the threads here too. You might find all the answers you seek. :wink:
JohnFP

starting on a budget

Post by JohnFP »

Tom B.

starting on a budget

Post by Tom B. »

Re the Integraph kits - go for the plates. Even though the plate size is smaller than the film version, the results (if you succeed) are MUCH more satisfying than the film. Brighter, better contrast, easier to show. And easier to make - film is a PAIN to stabilize. I think Integraf is irresponsible to make it look to beginners as though film is the no-brainer best deal. Another hobby killer.
BobH

starting on a budget

Post by BobH »

I completely agree with Tom! Holography offers very little in the way of "instant gratification". Like, none at all. And after all the meticulous preparation, exposure and processing, the hologram comes out looking OK and you're left with an extremely delicate curley piece of film that you can't touch on either side. Nothing but a pain in the a** to cut, hold flat, hold still, index-match (if you do), move through the trays, hold to dry, dry evenly, clean, hold to look at, and mount flat (if it ever makes it that far).