Seeking tips from a more experienced holographer

Simple answers are here! For Theory look in General Holography.
tschmelcher

Post by tschmelcher »

Hi there! I'm new to this forum. I'm a hobbyist holographer and I'm trying to figure out why so many of my holograms don't turn out. I'm hoping someone more experienced than me can take a look at my set-up and give me a few tips.

I use Slavich PFG-03M plates and process with JD-4 (I got all my materials from Integraf). My set-up is based on the basic set-up that Integraf describes in their handbook; I have a 5 mW laser embedded in a cup of sand, and separately I have a 9x9 baking pan filled with sand and on top of that I put both the subject and the plate (example photo is at the end). All of this is done on my bathroom counter, which is the only convenient, sturdy, and dark place in my apartment. I use a thick black book as the shutter. I always try to follow as many of the recommendations as possible, including storing the JD-4-A and the unexposed plates in my fridge.

My problem is that a lot of my holograms don't turn out and I don't know why. The most common problem I see is that all or part of the emulsion is "clouded" after developing and has no image on it. I've attached a picture showing a good example where the entire plate was covered in clouds. This was practically a brand new plate (manufactured in 2009/04, I think), so it should have been good.
Clouding on a developed plate
Clouding on a developed plate
Clouding.JPG (145.74 KiB) Viewed 2910 times
I've read that "fogging" can be caused by unwanted exposure to light, but I've never seen a picture of fogging before so I don't know if this is the same thing or not ... Plus the clouding seems to just happen randomly, as far as I can tell. Another thing I see every now and then is that the image is just very faint.