Cameras for Computer Generated Holograms (CGH)

Holography related topics.
xavislow

Post by xavislow »

Hey folks!

My name is Xavier and I'm a PhD student. My project is scoped in the Nanophotonics field, but I need to make some holograms in order to be able to do my experiments.
My advisor and I, we already have the software to generate the holograms, and we also know the process to make these holograms. However, in order to make them, we need a camera, and here's the problem. We do not really know which camera we should buy. My advisor worked with someone before who used a MINOLTA SRT 101 along with a Gigabitfilm of high quality and it worked out pretty well. So we know that this combination works, but we wonder if maybe buying a better manual camera or another kind of film we could get better efficiency on our holograms.

By the way, we are going to use light from 300 nm to 1000nm.

Heaps of thanks in advance!
xavislow

Post by xavislow »

Oh, and I also have another inquiry. The method we use to make the holograms is what follows. Using a Matlab code we generate a interference pattern and we print it with a high resolution printer. Then, we take a picture of this pattern with a camera (that was the reason why I posted this message) and finally we reveal it.

Do you know a better method to generate Holograms digitally?

Thanks again!
rzeheb

Post by rzeheb »

Hi Xavier and welcome to the forum. I assume you want to take the high-resolution photograph of your digitally generated interference pattern so that you can have something (the developed film) to pass light through? If so, would it be possible to use a high resolution printer to print the interference pattern directly onto transparency film and avoid the photography altogether? I say this not knowing if I understand your goals correctly or if sufficiently high resolution printers are available to you compared with the cost of film and camera.
a_k

Post by a_k »